Memoire Projects

Battleground „Cultural Heritage“ – Comments on the Berlin Appeal and the Hamburg Note

The „Berlin Appeal“, handed out on this year‘s „Shaping Access! More Responsibility for the Cultural Heritage“ conference – the Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin being its venue – begins with these words: Our society has long-since been marked by the consensus that knowledge and culture be preserved. And the „Hamburg Note“, also handed out there, reminds of the pending threat of a precarious distortion in our conception of history, if legal conditions were not improved upon soon to allow for the digital usage of cultural heritage. For the sake of completeness, it should be added: Our liberal democracies not only assert said consensus which the Berlin Appeal rests on, but at the same time view it to be endangered and, beyond that, they are poised to defend it! And while the conference mainly treated questions and problems pertaining to copyright law, „cultural heritage“ has long-since become the subject of international law.

This much became apparent in September of 2015, when Ahmad al Mahdi was committed to the International Criminal Court (ICC) in The Hague. Al Mahdi, a former teacher, who had already confessed in court, had, as leader of the so-called „moral police“ of Timbuktu, engaged in the destruction and devastation of ten buildings overall in Mali. Not only did he, as the prosecution put forth, play a central part in the planning and preparation of the destruction of cultural heritage, but participated actively by using pickaxes, shovels, mallets and axes to maul and destroy the walls of several thousand years old mausoleums and a mosque. In the opening of the case against al Mahdi before the Court in The Hague, the destruction of cultural heritage was treated for the first time as a war crime, that is, similar to past cases before the ICC about „attempted genocide“ and comparable charges. As Fatou Besnouda, chief prosecutor with the ICC, emphasized, the case was not just „about stones and walls“, but about „buildings that are both historically and religiously meaningful and defining of the identity of a people. It is about crimes aimed at annihilating the roots of a people and, along with them, its social structures and customs.“ That is clear language, and it marks a cesura that „our society“ is not likely to step behind again.

Thus assuming no more than „a consensus“ established in connection with cultural heritage and its worthiness of protection in our society, is to put it very cautiously. The case of al Mahdi, a war criminal, rather seems to be indicative of the conjecture, that where „peoples“ and „nations“ had been the ideologemes the respective war parties referred to up to the first half of the 20th century, categories like „identity“ and „cultural background“ might now substitute for them. If this is the case, it would be foolish to think that anyone dealing with cultural heritage in one way or another were doing so on normatively neutral ground; not even professionally. On the contrary, every institution, each small or big player dedicated to the digitalization of cultural heritage and competing for public funds is moving on highly charged and agressively contested political terrain. Maintaining neutrality then might prove far more difficult than to get funding. It should not be forgotten: If today war is declared through artillery, pickaxe, shovel, mallet and axe, i.e. in the form of destroying cultural heritage, our modern institutions react as efficiently as they can: by way of lawsuits suitable for the new forms of global warfare. And the discussions in Berlin most of the time revolve around financing policies and copyright issues while elsewhere the dimension of international law has already taken center stage.

It‘s not necessary, however, to look over to The Hague to become aware of the political explosiveness. Whether it be the far-right „identitarian movement“, that already sports the concept – „identity“ – as an emblem, or a  religious fanaticism and extremism rampantly on the rise aross the globe: it is becoming apparent that the inner-societal radicalization, too, which is nowhere to be ignored anymore and is unlikely to resolve itself, coincides with the construction of „cultural identities“; thereby implying also a readiness that is well underway to defend these identities even militantly against given state regulations. The distortion of the conception of history is no longer an abstract threat, as the Hamburg Note cautiously states, but rather it is due to such constructions of history and identity that the political structure is being actively distorted already, and in their name the given democratic order is put under pressure today. To put it clearly: „Culture“, „identity“, and „history“ have grown today, as seldom before, into highly charged and massively effective conceptions. Questions of „cultural heritage“ and the historical construction of identities are seeping into every political sector – even encroaching upon everyday life. In the talks yet to be had between politics, institutions and professionals in the field of „cultural heritage“, it is recommendable that the political impact of these discussions be put on the agenda rather sooner than later.

Without a doubt the Berlin Appeal is right in positing there was an „urgent need to act in archiving, as digital content and information would otherwise be [unretrievably] lost“; or that „specifically targeted focal points in training and research at universities and colleges“ were needed, and that long-term digital archiving would have to „find entrance into the curricula of others disciplines as well.“ But all these demands, justified as they are, seem to hover twenty centimeters above a crisis of democracy revealing itself in historical, commemorative and knowledge policy discourses alike. „Sustainability in the digital world requires a broad public discussion and strong political perception“ – that‘s also true, of course. But what about discussions and political perception within those communities that have declared to be professionally responsible for the digitalization of cultural heritage? „Digital long-term archiving ensures and reinforces the promise of democracy and transparency of the digital cultural heritage“, certainly; but the discussion about long-term conservation has itself become part of a contested democratic discourse so that it can no longer externalize this function. As a priority, it needs to be argued about how the promise of democracy and transparency is to be kept and defended by the agents in the field of digital cultural heritage. This issue must be pushed – and soon.

Memoire Projects

Kampffeld „kulturelles Erbe“ – Anmerkungen zum Berliner Appell und zur Hamburger Note

Der Berliner Appell, ausgegeben auch auf der diesjährigen Konferenz „Zugang gestalten! Mehr Verantwortung für das kulturelle Erbe“ – der Austragungsort war der Hamburger Bahnhof in Berlin –, beginnt mit den Worten: Unsere Gesellschaft ist seit langem von dem Konsens bestimmt, dass Wissen und Kultur zu erhalten sind. Und die Hamburger Note, dort ebenfalls ausgegeben, gibt zu bedenken, dass eine bedenkliche Verzerrung unseres Geschichtsbildes drohe, wenn rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen nicht baldigst weiterentwickelt würden, um eine digitale Nutzung des kulturellen Erbes zu gewährleisten. Der Vollständigkeit halber sollte man eigentlich hinzufügen: Unsere liberalen Demokratien machen diesen Konsens, auf den sich der Berliner Appell stützt, nicht nur geltend, sondern sehen ihn auch gefährdet und zeigen sich überdies dazu bereit, ihn zu verteidigen! Und während auf der Konferenz vorrangig urheberrechtliche Fragen und Probleme diskutiert wurden, hat das „kulturelle Erbe“ längst sogar eine völkerrechtliche Dimension hinzugewonnen.

Das wurde spätestens im September 2015 deutlich, als Ahmad Al Mahdi an den Internationalen Gerichtshof (ICC) nach Den Haag überstellt wurde. Al Mahdi, ein vor Gericht geständiger ehemaliger Lehrer, beteiligte sich als Leiter der sog. „Moralpolizei“ von Timbuktu an der Zerstörung und Verwüstung von insgesamt zehn Gebäuden in Mali. Nicht nur spielte er, so die Anklage, bei der Planung und Vorbereitung der Zerstörung kulturellen Erbes eine zentrale Rolle. Zudem habe er sich auch aktiv daran beteiligt, indem er mit Spitzhacke, Schaufel, Hammer und Axt die Gemäuer von mitunter Jahrtausende alten Mausoleen und einer Moschee malträtierte und zerstörte. Mit der Eröffnung von Al Mahdis Prozess vor dem Den Haager Gerichtshof wurde erstmals die Zerstörung kulturellen Erbes als Kriegsverbrechen behandelt, so ähnlich also, wie es in der Vergangenheit vor dem ICC wegen „versuchten Völkermords“ u. ä. schon der Fall gewesen ist. Wie Fatou Bensouda, Chefanklägerin am ICC, betonte, gehe es hier nicht lediglich „um Steine und Mauern“, sondern um „Gebäude, die sowohl historisch und religiös bedeutend sind und darüber hinaus die Identität eines Volkes bestimmen. Es geht um Verbrechen mit dem Ziel, die Wurzeln eines Volkes zu vernichten und mit ihnen soziale Strukturen und Gebräuche.“ Das ist eine deutliche Sprache, und sie markiert eine Zäsur, hinter die „unsere Gesellschaft“ vermutlich nicht so schnell mehr zurücktreten wird.

Geht man also lediglich von „einem Konsens“ aus, der sich in Bezug auf das kulturelle Erbe und seine Schutzwürdigkeit in „unserer Gesellschaft“ etabliert habe, so ist das sehr zurückhaltend formuliert. Der Fall Ahmad Al Mahdis, eines Kriegsverbrechers, scheint viel mehr für die Annahme zu sprechen, dass, wo „Volk“ und „Nation“ bis in die erste Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts hinein die aggressivsten Kriegsideologeme waren,  sich nun auch die Kategorien „Identität“ und „kulturelle Herkunft“ dazu gesellen könnten. Sollte das der Fall sein, dann wäre es zutiefst töricht davon auszugehen, es bewege sich auf normativ neutralem Feld, wer sich mit dem kulturellen Erbe in der einen oder anderen Weise beschäftigt; mitunter auch professionell. Im Gegenteil bewegt sich jede Institution, jeder kleinere oder größere Träger, der sich der Digitalisierung des kulturellen Erbes widmet und hierfür öffentliche Mittel haben möchte, in einem hochgradig aufgeladenen und politisch umkämpften Terrain. Darin Neutralität zu wahren, dürfte sich als das weitaus schwierigere Unterfangen herausstellen als an Fördermittel zu kommen. Man sollte nicht vergessen: Wenn heute mit Artillerie, Spitzhacke, Schaufel, Hammer und Axt Kriegserklärungen abgegeben werden, und zwar mitunter in der Form der Zerstörung kulturellen Erbes, dann reagieren unsere modernen Institutionen so effizient, wie sie nur können: mit Gerichtsprozessen, die den neuen globalen Konfliktformen angemessen erscheinen. Und in Berlin diskutiert man die meiste Zeit über Finanzierungspolitik und Urheberrechtsfragen, während andernorts die völkerrechtliche Dimension des kulturellen Erbes längst in den Vordergrund gerückt ist.

Doch muss man nicht erst nach Den Haag schauen, um sich die politische Brisanz zu vergegenwärtigen. Ob es sich dabei um rechtsradikale „identitäre Bewegungen“ handelt, die jenen Begriff – „Identität“ also – ja schon als Emblem mit sich führen, oder ob es sich um einen religiösen Fanatismus und Extremismus handelt, der global wuchert: Es wird daran deutlich, dass auch die innergesellschaftliche Radikalisierung, die sich nirgends mehr ignorieren lässt und sich vermutlich auch nicht von selbst auflösen wird, zugleich mit der Konstruktion „kultureller Identitäten“ einhergeht; und damit die Bereitschaft längst entstanden ist, diese „Identitäten“ gegebenenfalls auch militant gegen die jeweiligen staatlichen Ordnungen durchzusetzen. Die Verzerrung des Geschichtsbildes ist mithin keine abstrakte Bedrohung mehr, wie es die Hamburger Note zurückhaltend konstatiert, sondern aufgrund konstruierter Geschichtsbilder wird schon jetzt aktiv das politische Gefüge verzerrt und die bestehende, demokratische Ordnung im Namen solcher Geschichts- und Identitätskonstruktionen unter Druck zu setzen versucht. Um es deutlich zu sagen: „Kultur“, „Identität“ und „Geschichte“ sind heute wie nur selten zuvor zu politisch hochgradig aufgeladenen und gesellschaftlich massiv wirksamen Konzepten avanciert. Fragen des „kulturellen Erbes“ und der historischen Identitätskonstruktionen durchdringen längst alle Bereiche der Politik – und wirken bis in den Alltag hinein. In Gesprächen, die zwischen Politik, Institutionen und den im Bereich des „kulturellen Erbes“ tätigen Professionellen fürderhin stattfinden werden, sollte besser früher als später die politische Brisanz dieser Diskussionen expliziert werden.

Natürlich ist dem Berliner Appell zuzustimmen, wenn es darin beispielsweise heißt, dass „dringender Handlungsbedarf bei der Archivierung“ bestehe, „da digitale Inhalte und Informationen sonst unwiederbringlich verloren sind“. Oder dass es „gezielter Ausbildungs- und Forschungsschwerpunkt[e] an Universitäten und Fachhochschulen“ bedarf, und die digitale Langzeitarchivierung „auch Eingang in die Curricula von anderen Disziplinen finden“ müsse. Doch all diese Forderungen, so richtig sie sind, scheinen zwanzig Zentimeter oberhalb einer Krise der Demokratie zu schweben, die sich auch in geschichts-, erinnerungs- und wissenspolitischen Diskursen zu erkennen gibt. „Nachhaltigkeit in der digitalen Welt erfordert eine breite öffentliche Diskussion und starke politische Wahrnehmung“, auch das stimmt natürlich. Nur wie sieht es mit der Diskussion und politischen Wahrnehmung innerhalb jener Communities aus, die eine professionelle Zuständigkeit für die Digitalisierung des kulturellen Erbes erklärt haben? „Digitale Langzeitarchivierung sichert und stärkt das Demokratie- und Transparenzversprechen des digitalen Kulturerbes“, gewiss; doch ist die Diskussion um die digitale Langzeitarchivierung selbst schon Teil eines umkämpften Demokratiediskurses geworden, sodass sie diese Funktion nicht mehr externalisieren kann. Es muss zuvörderst diskutiert werden, wie das Demokratie- und Transparenzversprechen durch die Träger im Bereich des digitalen Kulturerbes eingelöst und verteidigt werden kann. Diese Debatte muss forciert werden, und das bald.

 

Alex Aßmann & Mathias Freymuth

(Memoire Projects)