The biographical knowledge of our time

Biographies are more than „just“ people’s life stories. They are at the same time histories of the epochs, the cultural influences and the particular conditions under which human beings live out their lives. Our enterprise – Memoire Projects gGmbH – is dedicated to archiving and documenting the biographical knowledge of our time.

For this purpose, we will conduct and record biographical interviews in order to capture in conversations the historical dimension of personal memories. Our film interviews will be edited, historically contextualized and published online.

Our first projects will focus on aspects of democratic culture and awareness in Germany after 1945. Pursuing the thread of collective memory through multiple generations we would like to retell the history of democratic innovations and crises alike.







2 June 1967

Recollections of a Biographical Cesura







1968 in Mannheim

Ein Jahr wird besichtigt







MEMOIRE

Digital Archive of Living Memory

The Memoire Project

Das biografische Wissen unserer Zeit

Biografien sind nicht nur Lebensgeschichten von Menschen. Biografien sind immer auch Geschichten der Epochen, der kulturellen Einflüsse und der besonderen Bedingungen menschlicher Lebensführung. Memoire Projects gGmbH hat es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht, dieses biografische Wissen unserer Zeit zu dokumentieren, zu archivieren und möglichst vielen Menschen frei zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Dazu werden wir biografische Interviews führen und filmen, um die geschichtliche Dimension persönlicher Erinnerungen im Gespräch zu zeitigen. Die Filminterviews werden medial aufbereitet, historisch kontextualisiert und online veröffentlicht.

Mit unseren ersten Projekten legen wir einen thematischen Schwerpunk auf das demokratische Bewusstsein in Deutschland nach 1945. Am Band der Erinnerungen mehrerer Generationen möchten wir eine Geschichte der demokratischen Innovationen und Krisen nachzeichnen.

Der 2. Juni 1967

Erinnerungen an eine biografische Zäsur

1968 in Mannheim

Ein Jahr wird besichtigt

MEMOIRE

Digitales Archiv für lebendige Erinnerung